4 hour relocation window announcement


We will be moving the Protopage server cluster to a new, state-of-the-art data center on Sunday 12th February.

We are making this move because one of our core priorities is to provide you with excellent uptime so that you can rely on Protopage being there when you need it. We will also be adding hardware to increase our server cluster capacity.

We estimate that Protopage will be out of service for up to four hours during this move. We have chosen the time that the fewest users are online, which is Sunday morning.

The outage times are as follows:

EST / US East Coast 2:30 AM 6:30 AM
CST / US Central 1:30 AM 5:30 AM
MST / US Mountain 12:30 AM 4:30 AM
PST / US West Coast      11:30 PM    –    3:30 AM
GMT / London 7:30 AM 11:30 AM
CET / Zurich 8:30 AM 12:30 PM
Singapore / Hong Kong 3:30 PM 7:30 PM
Tokyo 4:30 PM 8:30 PM
Melbourne 6:30 PM 10:30 PM

We will be taking lengthy precautions to ensure that your data is kept safe during the transition (a combination of backups and our mirrored disk arrays). Thank you for bearing with us during this process.

16 Responses to “4 hour relocation window announcement”

  1. weckman Says:

    Nonsense, thank YOU for the effort and continuously improving the site! Love it, love it, love it!

  2. FreeBee Says:

    I’m with weckman. No need to thank us, when YOU’re doing all the good work! :)

  3. Ladytinker Says:

    Thank you for doing this and even trying to do it so that most of us aren’t even aware of it when you move. Looking forward to the move and all the great things that are going to come from this move…so glad I found you guys.

    Ladytinker

  4. Voigt-Kampff Says:

    Protopage pwnage. Now if only I could fire my skools ITS and hire…oh wait, sorry, dreaming.

  5. Puraz Says:

    You guys are seriously doing an awesome job with Protopage. Can’t say enough about it. I’ve been telling as many people about it as possible.
    Just simple things like keeping your users posted on things like this makes the difference. Thanks for keeping us updated.

    Just out of curiosity, what timezone (part of the world) do you guys get the most traffic from? My guess would be EST, but I could be wrong.

    Good Luck with the move.

  6. Mathew Byrne Says:

    Umm….. you mean Melbourne?

  7. Lewis Says:

    This is exciting news! I have really tried to talk fellow employees into the Protopage concept. The only hesitation has been with speed of access. I really look forward to taking the handcuffs off and telling everyone that they NEED to use this tool.

  8. ozgur Says:

    Thanks, i am feeling nude without Protopage. i hope better protopage is waiting us.

  9. xrayspex Says:

    All is fine here this Sunday morning in New York City.
    Nice smooth transition…keep up the good work :)

  10. ozgur Says:

    thanks eveything is now OK

  11. balint Says:

    I just want to note, how much I like the fact that you’ve written several major timezones in the announcement.. and not just an EST or CET, and let other people trying to figure it out.

    And anyway, it’s just great what you are doing guys!!

  12. Bonifacius Says:

    Great article. I am just sad I dont know how to reply properly, though, since I want to show my appreciation like many other.

  13. FreeBee Says:

    Bonifacius, can’t you think of anything else to say? This one is getting a bit stale…

  14. AMITRIPTYLINE Says:
  15. ?? Says:

    I think this article is in a better place

  16. cone crusher Says:

    For this matter, once I discussed with one of my friends, not only about the content you talked about, but also to how to improve and develop, but no results. So I am deeply moved by what you said today.